Marathon County is a large county and we have a lot of municipalities. Each municipality manages it’s garbage and recycling collection so what happens in one community may be different from another. It is very important to know what your community’s guidelines are.

Below is a list of all of the MC municipalities with links to the local contact information. Communities that have websites will have a link to their site. Look for (Website) next to the municipality name. Search the municipality’s website for their garbage and recycling information or call the local contact directly.

You can also call the Marathon County Solid Waste & Recycling Information Line at 877-270-3989.

List of Marathon County Municipalities

Abbotsford, Colby, Marshfield, Mosinee, Schofield, Wausau

Bergen, Berlin, Bern, Bevent, Brighton, Cassel, Cleveland, Day, Easton, Eau Pleine, Elderon, Emmet, Frankfort, Franzen, Green Valley, Guenther, Halsey, Hamburg, Harrison, Hewitt, Holton, Hull, Johnson, Knowlton, Marathon, McMillan, Mosinee, Norrie, Plover, Reid, Rib Falls, Rib Mountain, Rietbrock, Ringle, Spencer, Stettin, Texas, Wausau, Weston, Wien

Athens, Birnamwood, Dorchester, Edgar, Elderon, Fenwood, Hatley, Kronenwetter, Maine, Marathon City, Rothschild, Spencer, Stratford, Unity, Weston